How Do I Become a Daddy?

36 years, 5 months and 15 days.  That’s how long it took me to become a father.  I’ll spend the rest of my life learning how to become a daddy.

I firmly believe that anyone can be a father, but daddys, well, they aren’t made so easily.  I’d be lying if I said I knew exactly what went into being a daddy, and a great one at that.  Fortunately for me I have a great example to draw from.  I haven’t just had a father, I’ve had a daddy for my whole life.  I know that I will look back on how he has handled things, ways he has treated me, advice he has given, and use those same tools he used.

I also will draw heavily on my relationship with God, my Heavenly Father, who is the greatest Daddy of all time.  By further deepening my relationship with Him I will better learn how to treat my daughter.  All wisdom comes from God, so it would be wise to hear what He has to say.

For the short term, I’m being the best daddy I can by being a great husband to my wife.  I believe that’s where being a great daddy starts.  I’m learning to be less selfish with my time and energy.  It’s not all about me, and it’s never been more apparent in my life then right now.  I’m catching myself savor the small things that my daughter does, and holding onto them as long as possible.  I know it won’t be like this for long, and when it’s gone all I will have are memories.  I want to make each day, each hour, each minute, a memory to cherish forever, both for her and for me.

So far I’m doing ok with this daddy role, but it’s gonna take time and a lot of practice.  At the end of my life I hope that my daughter can say with all honesty “I didn’t just have a father, I had a daddy.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

