2 Years Ago…

April 3rd was the official anniversary date, but this weekend marks the second year of life without my brother Jason.  It was on Saturday, April 3rd, Easter weekend, that he finally was able to quit fighting for his life and go home to Heaven.

Of course the last two years have been full of ups and downs for me and my family.  My parents have experienced pain that I cannot imagine, and hope to never have to.  I’ve become an only child for the first time since I was four.  A day doesn’t pass that I don’t think about him, and I usually don’t dwell too much on the fact that he’s not with us anymore.  It hurts to think about him not here.

Having him not here though means he is in a better place.  I certainly believe in life after death, and I know that he is in Heaven.  He struggled for over 13 years after a surgery went terribly wrong, and none of us will ever know just how much pain and suffering he went through each day.  To know that all of the pain is now over is a great relief for me, and as much as I wish he were still here, I wouldn’t want him to have to come back in his old body with the same conditions.  That would be terribly selfish of me.  I find peace and comfort knowing that he is finally healed.

I questioned why I really wanted to post something about the anniversary of his death.  Was it selfish?  Was it to generate a few hits on my site?  Was it for sympathy?  No to all of those.  The real reason?  I don’t want to ever forget Jason, and I don’t want others to forget him either.  This is one way that I can keep his memory and legacy alive.  I believe it also helps others who miss him to think back on all the incredible memories of him by reading this.

Thank you for reading, thank you for caring, and for those of you that knew Jason, thank you for loving him.  May he be remembered until we see him again!

Be well.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “2 Years Ago…

  1. Amy Chinnici

    Very nice Todd. He has a perfect body now. No pain and no worries. Praying for your family.

Leave a Reply

