Happy 2nd Birthday Tinsley Ellison

     Ok, so today is your birthday.  You’re the big 2!  I know you can’t read this, but one day you’ll be able to.  I hope it means as much to you when you read it as it does to me to be able to write it.

     It’s hard to believe you’re already 2 Tinsley!  Time has flown by so quickly, and I am amazed and awestruck at how blessed I am because of you.  In my whole life I would have never imagined that I could love someone as much as I love you.  Sometimes I just sit and cry when I think about you.  This kind of love is truly overwhelming.  I hope and pray you get to experience it one day.

     I wanted to write down some stuff that I love about you and about us.  I know if I don’t I’ll forget it.  I also wanted to let you know a little about what life was like when you were 2.

     I don’t know if you will remember or not, but every night before I lay you down we hug and I hold you in my arms.  You wrap those little arms around me and I usually tell you to hug me tighter, make me grunt.  You do and I do.  There’s no greater feeling in the world sweet girl than you holding onto me like I’m the most important thing in your life.  As you’re hugging me I pray for you.  I thank God for you, for the blessing that you are.  I pray that you’ll not live a day outside of His will for you.  I pray for your destiny and your purpose, and that you would always walk in those things.  I always pray for your protection.  I always tell God to put His angels all around you, your crib, and the house.  I ask Holy Spirit to let you know Him at an early age, for you to hear His voice while you are still young.  I pray these things every night for you.  They are so very important.  Then I put you in your crib and tell you that I love you and bless you.  On most nights you’re asleep in less than 5 minutes.

     I bet you didn’t know that some nights I’ll sneak in on you, just to watch you sleep.  I may  pray for you, I may rub your back, or I may just stand at  your crib and watch you.  I never knew watching someone sleep could be such an emotional experience, but it is.  I always get choked up just watching you in your crib.  You know why?  Because you are so amazing and I still can’t figure out why God loved me so much that He let me be your daddy.  What an awesome privilege He gave me!

     One of my favorite things to do with you is roughhouse.  You do pretty good holding your own girl.  I love it when we headbutt each other, like two tigers playing in the wild.  Or when I’m laying on the floor and you come jump on me, then roll over me about a million times.  I love throwing you into the pillows, and you always come back for more don’t you?

     I also love that you’re a daredevil.  I love to hold my arms out and you jump into them when you’re standing on the side of the bed.  Or when you walk all over the furniture (even though you’re not supposed to) and climb to the top.  It’s still fun to watch you do that.  That’s exactly how I want you to live your life-without abandon, fearless.

    It’s so much fun watching you outside.  Now I’ll let you in on a little secret.  I am not much of an outdoors guy.  You, though, are changing that.  If I want to be with you I have to go outside, because you LOVE being outside.  So I go.  And you always make me laugh.  Whether it’s sliding, climbing, throwing the Kong for Macey, mowing the grass, riding in a toy, drawing on the sidewalk, throwing the ball, or hitting the ball off the tee, you never fail to make me smile.  Oh wait, I almost forgot!  One of the greatest things you do is to water the plants and fill up the water dishes.  It’s so funny to watch you do those, because you’re just so darn cute when you do it.

     There are about a million other things that I love watching you do and doing with you.  Like when you just sit by yourself and read out loud.  You know exactly what you’re saying, even if you don’t know those words yet.  Or when you’re cooking up something in your little kitchen.  How about when you give the doggies a cookie?  Poor doggies, half of the time you hit them in the head with the bones!  

     Tinsley Ellison, I could sit here all night and write about what I love about you.  You are so beautiful, so sweet, so joyful, so wonderful, so incredible.  But the main reason I love you is because you’re mine.  You’re my daughter, and in all of this world, I could not have been more blessed by anyone or anything.  I love, Love, LOVE you sooooooooo much.  You know, sometimes I ask you that.  I’ll say, “Tinsley, do you know how much Daddy loves you?”  You’ll always shake your head yes.  Then I say, “You can’t know how much I love you because I don’t even have a clue how much I love you.”  My love for you truly grows more and more every day.

     On today, June 3rd, your day of birth, I bless you.  I bless you to be all that God created you to be.  I bless you to walk in His ways, to love Him with all of your heart.  I bless you to love others, to always be a light in the darkness, to always have a smile that melts everyone.  I bless you to be physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually healthy.  I bless you to grow in size and knowledge, in love and in happiness.  You are the apple of my eye, my sunshine, and I still can’t believe you’re mine!  I love you baby girl!  Happy Birthday!

Love,
Daddy

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

