Live Forever

So Little Bit, I’m sitting here at 1:04 am typing this, when I should be sleeping (or at the very least, laying in bed thinking about sheep or something relaxing).  But instead, I’m listening to Drew Holcomb and the Neighbors and thinking about you.  They’re a band that I’ve just happened upon, and your daddy has fallen in love with one of the songs.  It’s called Live Forever.  I want you to know what the words are, so I’m going to put them for you below ok?

Laughter is the only thing that’ll keep you sane
In this world that’s dying more and more everyday
Don’t let evil get you down
In this madness spinning round and round

I want you to live forever
Underneath the sky so blue

Some people say faith is a childish game
Play on, children, like it’s Christmas day
Sing me a song, sing me a melody
Sing out loud, you’re a symphony

I want you to live forever
Underneath the sky so blue
I want you to live forever
Underneath the sky so blue

Take courage when the road is long
Don’t ever forget you’re never alone

I want you to live forever
Underneath the sky so blue
I want you to live forever
Underneath the sky so blue

Oh yeah, I want you to live forever
Underneath the sky so blue
Oh yeah, I want you to live forever
Underneath the sky so blue

I gotta tell you TE, this is one of the many songs that speaks to me about how I feel for you and your life.  I know you can’t live forever physically, but I know spiritually you can.  I also know that as long as you’re alive I want all blue skies for you.  I’ll always do whatever I can to make sure the sun forever shines and the sky stays true to its color.

I especially love the line that says, “Take courage when the road is long, don’t ever forget you’re never alone.”  As long as this aging, fat body of mine moves, you’ll never, ever be alone Baby Girl.  And when you reach a point in your life when it seems you can’t go on, just keep going on.  You can do it, and you will do it!  You are marked for greatness; destined for a life of purpose.

Someday soon you’ll be able to read some of what I’ve written for you.  Later in your life it will make sense.  In the meantime, I’m going to remind you with hugs, kisses and I love you’s how much I truly do love you.  I still am amazed, in awe and thankful that I get the honor to be daddy to you.  You make this crazy life worth living Tinsley.

I love you more than I can ever know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

